A master in zone defense? Topic

I am looking for a coach who has great success with the zone defense (preferably in DI) to give me some insights.  Anyone willing to share some secrets or strategies would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks in advance.  Feel free to sitemail me as well.  
8/16/2012 3:22 PM
i am far from an expert, and ive only played zone once in d1. i took a mid major (csun in tark) to the elite 8, over the course of maybe a 7 season rebuild, where i lost by 3 to a team so much better than mine, they had to have 9 of the top 10 players (and arguably the top 5). 

however, i really thought i had things pretty well figured out at the time, it was a fb/zone set. the trick to zone is to make sure you get guys worthy of playing 35mpg, and play them that 35m. you can't have a well rounded team, unless its very short, or else zone suffers somewhat considerably, it seems. you really need to find a couple guys who are tip top scorers (for whatever set you had, my super star on my fb/zone set had 70 ath, 100 spd, like no lp, and 48 per, with 99 bh. he also had a+ ft shooting and that led to his greatness, he put up 24ppg even against top competition, at very good efficiency - really, he outperformed many, many 90 ath/spd/bh/per guys ive had over the years).

along those lines, i think zone really rewards teams who build a good starting 5, from a synergy standpoint. those 5 guys will play together more than starters in any other set. so if you can manage to grab a great pg in a traditional (spd/bh/pass/def) sense, a great scoring sg, 2 great rebounders, and a sf who rounds things out in whatever way is needed, you can play the **** out of those guys, and really claim an advantage over other teams who are playing their backup line for 15 minutes a game.