School Prestige Ratings Change Topic

Posted this to my conference forum and received a surprising response, so I thought I would offer it up for other feedback.  I am a newbie owner, selected a team with B- prestige...got  team with C- prestige.  Is that type of drop normal?  I expected some possible drop, but a full grade!  Wow!  Let the fun begin.  Anyone else experience this type of a drop.

3/19/2013 2:30 PM
In DIII yea.  Good news is think of how quickly you can turn them around
3/19/2013 2:40 PM
Yeah, if you're brand new you have no resume/experience so the school prestige dropped to reflect that.
3/19/2013 2:52 PM
Posted by rednation58 on 3/19/2013 2:52:00 PM (view original):
Yeah, if you're brand new you have no resume/experience so the school prestige dropped to reflect that.
Is this really a thing?  I figured the schools prestige dropped as a result of the previous season, as the game rolled over to a new season, and not as a result of a rookie coach taking over.  So you are saying if a D1 school took over a D- DIII school, the schools prestige would jump due to the new D1 coach?
3/19/2013 4:05 PM
Had to be the previous season - no way they would have been at a B- after that 275 RPI season as the latest.  Guessing he reserved it during the season while they were still at the B-, then assumed control after the season rolled over and they'd moved to C-.

The prestige can bump either way a tad on a coaching change, but certainly not a full letter grade.  I've personally never seen it jump more than 1/3 of a grade in that scenario, though.
3/19/2013 4:21 PM
Posted by ryrun on 3/19/2013 4:23:00 PM (view original):
Had to be the previous season - no way they would have been at a B- after that 275 RPI season as the latest.  Guessing he reserved it during the season while they were still at the B-, then assumed control after the season rolled over and they'd moved to C-.