Recruiting the first cycle Topic

So I am in year 3 of a smaller D1 school, and while I am doing ok, I am still learning the nuances of recruiting. The toughest part is getting in with a player that starts considering a school after the first cycle... So here are my questions for those who know--

1) Is there any additional advantage to getting in on a player and having them considering you immediately? I have lost multiple players  that were close to me to SIM teams that were far away. Those players started "considering" the sim teams immediately, and I couldn't get in with them no matter how much money I threw at them.

2) What type of actions (calls, scouting trips, etc) will work to get you considered by a player immediately? I have thrown home visits and campus visits out there, but they normally get rejected on the first try, so I don't want to throw 5 home visits right away if they just reject them.

Any other tips on early recruiting would be helpful for any of you experts out there. Thanks for the answers in advance!
6/19/2013 11:48 AM
To my understanding, lower D1 schools may have to wait for recruits to 'drop' down to them, or pull down if you chose to send SVs, even if they are on the D1 list. If you had trouble battling a SIM for a recruit, chances are it was a prestige matter.
6/19/2013 1:18 PM
At low level D1 you have to treat it almost the same as you would at D2 or D3, calling recruits in the first cycle to see if you can recruit them immediately or if you will have to pull them down or wait for them to drop to you. It all depends on your prestige level, but you certainly wouldn't be able to recruit a top 20 ranked player immediately with a D+ prestige.