Recruiting pulldowns for DII question Topic

I'm not in the know and a terrible coach, so I'm looking for someone that has done this to help:

I had a DI recruit targeted to pull down.  The 4 o'clock cycle had him considering a D- DI sim school.

I sent him a phone call anyways, and I got

"Update on <recruit>, looks like we're a backup option right now. He thinks he's going to a 'big time' program."

Do I have any shot??  I'm A+ at DII for what it's worth, and am 200 miles away(equal with a sim)

1/3/2014 9:26 PM
could take up to 30 or 35 evals to pull him down, then you'd still have to battle the very tight D1 sim. Yes its (probably) doable, No its (probably)  not worth it.
1/3/2014 9:36 PM
Next question, has anyone successfully done this?     

1/3/2014 9:39 PM
Yeah. Just make sure the SIM isn't *very* tight or something like that. It's gonna be expensive though.
1/3/2014 10:01 PM
Just my take... I have no experience at d2 but I tried pulling a d2 guy down when he was VERY TIGHT with a d2 sim.... I was a d3 A- it took me about 45 scouting trips to pull him down and I had no money left over. Ill probably never attempt that again.
1/3/2014 10:37 PM
if he's very tight its going to take a ton to pull him down and take him from that school.  Just to pull him down you're looking at probably 20+ scouting visits and then to flip him its going to take probably another 20+ HV (just a guess of course)
1/4/2014 1:06 AM
Posted by bscoresby on 1/3/2014 9:26:00 PM (view original):
I'm not in the know and a terrible coach, so I'm looking for someone that has done this to help:

I had a DI recruit targeted to pull down.  The 4 o'clock cycle had him considering a D- DI sim school.

I sent him a phone call anyways, and I got

"Update on <recruit>, looks like we're a backup option right now. He thinks he's going to a 'big time' program."

Do I have any shot??  I'm A+ at DII for what it's worth, and am 200 miles away(equal with a sim)