The most important attribute is... Topic

This is for D3 and maybe D2, as you guys have learned I am just getting started and trying to soak up as much knowledge as possible from you experienced coaches so I can actually try and be competitive.  Next thing on my agenda; attributes.  I think I have that athleticism and speed are the two that you want the most.  What after that?  What for:

PG:???
SG:???
SF:???
PF:???
C:???

And more so, what do you look for on offense and defense?  Again, I think I have gathered that ATH and SPD are the two most important for both ways.
2/18/2014 5:12 PM
Here's how I generally view things - listed in order from most important on down. 
Many people might believe this is wrong....and all of the different ways to build a team are what make the game interesting. 

PG   Spd/Pas/Def/Ath
SG   Ath/Def/Spd/Per
SF   Ath/Def/(some other core attributes....this really depends on your personal strategy)
PF   Ath//Def/LP/Reb
C     Ath/Reb/Def/LP 

2/18/2014 5:33 PM (edited)
Also - ignore the player's listed position. Look at the player's attributes, envision where the player would be in your starting lineup, and go from there. 

(For instance, a guy that is listed as SG but has low ATH and PER and high BH, PAS, and SPD would be a much better PG. Treat him as such. )
2/18/2014 5:32 PM
Dont just ignore the position - look affirmatively for guys who are at the "wrong" position.  They are likely to be underappreciated and can be bargains.  The SG who should be a SF but who would be really weak as a SG.  Even more extreme cases happen.  Those guys are worth hunting for.
2/18/2014 5:50 PM
What kind of Offense and Defense are you running?  The importance between Fastbreak Offense and Triangle are going to be different just like the importance between Zone vs. Press Defense.
2/18/2014 9:34 PM