Most overvalued / undervalued ratings? Topic

Specifically, I'm asking which ratings you think newer coaches (including you when you were newer) tend to overvalue and undervalue in recruiting and team construction at the D3 / D2 levels.

Here's my take:
Overvalued: REB. Before ppl who didn't read the part above jump down my throat, yeah, I know rebounding matters. And if you have so little of it at PF and C that you're giving up tons of off rebs and easy shots every game, that's a huge problem (esp in zone). But once you have an acceptable level of it, I think REB has pretty serious diminishing returns. At D2, having a 4th or 5th excellent rebounder doesn't make much difference, certainly not in the way that having a 5th dominant athlete or defender or 3-pt shooter does. And REB at SF often comes with the tradeoff that you're not getting a guard-type there, with high speed, perimeter and BH.

Undervalued: BH. I say this from my personal experience when I was a newbie. I'd have good regular seasons but get killed by better teams in the NT. My shooting percentages were still usually solid, but I was turning the ball over a ton (esp vs press, but even vs M2M). Focusing more on BH helped my offense a lot at both D3 and D2. And it's a rating that pays off for both big men and guards.

Would love to hear other takes on this.

4/28/2014 1:13 PM
I think passing is undervalued. I think perimeter is the most over valued. I am on my phone so I can't elaborate but I will when I get a chance.
4/28/2014 1:21 PM
Overvalued:  Per.  I had guys and still have a guy with 99 PER, but is shooting 3pt below 40%. You have to have BH and SP in order to have good per player.  I don't like this. In real life if a guy is SLOW, but can shoot he will do just fine.

Undervalued:  I agree with BH.  I would go with Passing.  I've seen guys with great BH and low passing and turn the ball over a lot.
4/28/2014 1:24 PM
Posted by Trentonjoe on 4/28/2014 1:21:00 PM (view original):