How much of a disadvantage is zone defense? Topic

Sorry I'm new to the game but what does IRL mean, ettaexpress? Might be a dumb question. 
5/4/2014 10:46 PM
Irl = in real life
5/4/2014 10:54 PM
Posted by ettaexpress on 5/4/2014 9:50:00 PM (view original):
Posted by Trentonjoe on 5/4/2014 9:24:00 AM (view original):
1. I want to utilize the shot blocking of the center. That is emphasized more in Zone.
2. The second best rebounder wont be any farther away than if we play man.
3. The whole point is to see if four athletic guards and one monster center can play defense effectively.
2. But he'll be assigned to a man which makes rebound responsibilities easier. 
3. They can and do IRL if you're playing a team that has 4 perimeter players. Against a team with 2 posts, problems ensue. Have no idea, of course, how well the sim will handle it. Probably helps that the sim already weights ATH/DEF too much. 
ettaexpress, we just found that the Center in the 2-3 is by himself as far as attributes go ... and that  PG/SG make up a group and that SF/PF make up a group.  The groups are averaged for Defensive play.  It might also impact rebounding ... not yet determined.

We are not talking about real life here, though it would be good if the game mimiced real life.  What TJ is saying is ... he wants to try an experiment where he has a very good ATH, BLK, REB, DEF Center to play the 2-3 zone and actually see (now that we know the groupings) what the SIM does in that instance.  IRL you would likely not be able to rebound as a team or stop post up players as well ... with the SIM, that "could be" a different story.  That is why he wants to try it ... to try and find the nuances of how the 2-3 works.

Once we know how it works, then maybe we can say it is or is not like real life and suggest changes .. but first, test it then decide.

5/5/2014 8:56 AM
This post has a rating of , which is below the default threshold.
Zone Experiment #1

DEFENSE:
Guard Average:  52/64/61 (ATH/SPD/DEF)