I am a very young coach in my HD career and am looking to find success at all levels (D3-D1). I have found some consistency in making a 20 win post season team but am still learning what it takes to become elite.

My question is What do you consider as a successful coach? 

Consistent NT appearences? Sweet 16? Championships? Consistent post season?

I was thinking of a goal of making at least the sweet 16 in every divison as none of my teams right now are immediatly ready for that, it would require me to learn and build and not just cherry pick a team.

Thanks!
7/31/2014 3:20 PM
In my opinion there are 5 levels of "good" coaches. In order they are:

1. Guys who win championships all the time (Emy, Gillespe, aejones, girt)
2.Guy who always make the tournament all the time and win championships alot (tiyani, killbatman,
3. Guys who always make the tournament all the time and have a championship or two (tkimble, yanks####, dahsdebater, oldave)
4. Guys who make the tournament all the time but haven't won the big one (um, me)
5. Guys who usually make the NT
7/31/2014 4:20 PM
I've been able to bring teams into the NT after being out of it for awhile, I just havent made the next step to winning in the post season. So I do think a sweet 16 appearence is a good goal to look towards
7/31/2014 4:46 PM
I define a good season for me as making the S16. I've made a few FF's and a few more EE's but generally I am happy when I make the S16.
7/31/2014 4:48 PM
k thanks, I shooting for S16 in every division
7/31/2014 4:55 PM