Oh Smart Coaches....what offense do you like??? Topic

At DIII does anything work??

Will Fastbreak work at DI???
10/21/2014 7:01 PM
I like motion and have used it a lot. If you want to concentrate on pumping a high volume of shots into two guards, I like flex. I'm really just starting to experiment with triangle. And fastbreak, if you can get yourself a deep roster of superior athletes you can do quite well with it.

(Note those ae mainly d2 and 3)
10/21/2014 7:08 PM
interesting...very interesting
10/21/2014 7:16 PM
I love the triangle- it allows you to get your best scorers the ball and have other guys that are role players.  
10/21/2014 9:54 PM
If you do not have depth the best combo is Triangle/zone. But these are both the easiest to beat. Motion/MM is very reliable and probably the most used at D2/D!. I am a very aggressive coach based on my RL coaching days so all 3 of my active teams are Press combined with motion, flex, Fastbreak. The Fastbreak/Press combo is the most devastating combo and happens to be my favorite.
10/21/2014 10:21 PM
I like the motion because it gets the best out of a roster that is deep with scorers. Get a motion team filled with great driving guards (high spd/bh) and you have yourself an efficient offense.
10/21/2014 11:34 PM
I like fb at DIII. It is sometimes easier to find guys that can dribble than can shoot and fb seems to allow better opportunities for scorers without gaudy lp or per to be effective. def ratings tend lower in dIII too, so these guys can sometimes generate foul trouble for the opponent as well...

I'm pretty sure (but not 100% and cant access that world anymore) that the Salem St team I took to the finals in Allen was fb/zone
10/22/2014 12:27 AM
pick and roll
10/22/2014 3:17 PM
rather than post in your offense and defense threads...