signing D3 players at D1 Topic

I have 8 openings this year in one of my D1 programs and have found 6 freshman I want to sign. I was able to get all of them to consider me with very little effort and have a healthy chunk of my recruting budget remaining. This is my first year at this new school so I decided to see if there were any transfers available with 1 year of eligibility left that I could sign and roll over my recruiting funds.

When I searched for transfers, there were no players at the D1 level that I could easily sign, so I opened my search up to D2 and D3. There are 2 D3 players with 1 year of eligibility left, so I decided to go ahead and try to sign them. This would allow me to stagger my classes they way I want and roll over 25% of my remaining budget.

When I tried to offer the scholarship to them I got a message from my AD telling me I couldnt' do it. Has anyone else ever seen this? It seems absurd that they will let me offer scholarships to my walk ons, but I can't sign a D3 player who is equal talent to a walk on?

I sent in a ticket, but I am sure it will do no good. I am ****** of the say the least. Now I am going to have to try an poach two players at the last 2 cycles just so i don't feel like I wasted these 2 openings and all this cash.

Here is the message I got if anyone is curious:

Coach:
Am I getting punk'd? Seriously, where is Ashton? You know that I can't approve that scholarship offer. I know I don't want to explain that one to the boosters and I'm sure you don't either. Does the kid have of pictures of you with co-eds or something? Even if he did, no way - final answer. I miss Regis.

Harold Griffie
Director of Athletics

11/7/2014 3:23 PM
Nothing you can do about it, your "AD" won't let you sign the player.  Ran into this a couple times in a similar situation to yours.  Its intentionally programmed into the game, so submitting a ticket won't do anything.  Just gotta go after the D2 SR transfers.
11/7/2014 3:26 PM