I'm pretty new to HD. Just finished my first season in Phelan D3. I tried the game for 1 season because of the discount offer and really enjoyed getting the hang of it, so decided to re-up for 5 more seasons.

Just curious as to what most coaches' career goals are when playing HD. It seems like the most obvious objective is to progress through the lower divisions and work your way up to a D1 power conference team. So, I spent some time looking at the history of a number of the coaches in the different worlds, and it seems that some are content to build a dynasty at the D2 or D3 level (and have done so very successfully over a number of seasons, while almost certainly passing over opportunities to move up). Others it appears, have had quick success and taken the soonest chance they could get to move up and grab the reigns at a big D1 school.

What are some thoughts and pros and cons on building a dynasty in the lower divisions, as opposed to climbing up to D1 as quickly as possible? Any examples, tips, or success stories from either approach are certainly welcome as well.

11/21/2016 3:08 PM
my 1st hd team was (still is) hiram in wooden..i made so many mistakes with the terriers that i decided to stay at d3 & see if i could right the ship..personally i enjoy all the divisions..after 36 seasons & 4-6 worlds later, i still don''t have a big6 d1 team..i love to play in spite of my "success"!
11/21/2016 4:35 PM
I've done a little of both. As pkoopman, my original handle, I just wanted to get to big 6 programs. Not necessarily as fast as possible, but that was the goal, because that was the game I intended to play - get to March Madness with some big 6 schools.