Another chuckle for us vets Topic

Posted by bjschumacher on 11/12/2013 7:17:00 PM (view original):
So being a relative newbie, I was wondering if there was any kind of unwritten code of conduct about stealing other owners' committed recruits late in the game. I have my answer.
The idea is to make your team better.  Now some people will hold grudges and try to wreck your next recruiting class, even at the expense of your own, but if you're smart (and a bit lucky) you can have them chasing after guys you don't want, and then all they will accomplish is driving themselves closer to the crap hole.

They aren't yours until they sign, that's the only rule that matters.

11/12/2013 7:56 PM
Posted by jc1796 on 11/12/2013 7:21:00 PM (view original):
So being a relative newbie, I was wondering if there was any kind of unwritten code of conduct about stealing other owners' committed recruits late in the game. I have my answer.
Best to learn it now. :)

By not making it difficult on another coach, you are strengthening him and therefore hurting your chances for a national championship.

To be fair: there are some people who abide by such a code, but if you do, that won't mean others will. Sniping is and forever will be a part of the game, and frankly an enjoyable one. It can cause recruiting rivalries, because you better bet people will fire back! 
11/12/2013 7:58 PM
Posted by bhazlewood on 11/12/2013 7:56:00 PM (view original):
The idea is to make your team better.  Now some people will hold grudges and try to wreck your next recruiting class, even at the expense of your own, but if you're smart (and a bit lucky) you can have them chasing after guys you don't want, and then all they will accomplish is driving themselves closer to the crap hole.

They aren't yours until they sign, that's the only rule that matters.