DOMA & Prop 8 Topic

Posted by bad_luck on 6/24/2013 11:06:00 AM (view original):
Posted by tecwrg on 6/24/2013 11:03:00 AM (view original):
I'm not a constitutional lawyer, so I'm not qualified to make a judgement.

You give unqualified opinions here all the time--Obamacare, economics, and baseball, just to name a few. You aren't an expert in any of those fields. Why is this different?

Yes or no, do you think DOMA violates the tenth amendment?
I have an understanding and opinion of Obamacare as a participant and user of the healthcare system in this country, and as a taxpayer.

I have a general understanding and opinion of economics as a consumer, and as an investor in the market.

I have an understanding and opinion of baseball as a fan, a player and a coach.

I do not have an understanding of the nuances of the tenth amendment as I am not a constitutional lawyer, nor have I ever studied or taken a class in constitutional law.
6/24/2013 11:23 AM (edited)
You've already given opinions on the tenth amendment -- remember "I don't consider regulating marriage a 'power.'"

Are you saying that you shouldn't have given that opinion because you didn't know what you were talking about?
6/24/2013 11:25 AM
I personally don't consider defining marriage a "power".

That's different from having an opinion on the tenth amendment and whether or not it applies here.

That's the difference between you and me.  You somehow think that your having a passionate opinion on a topic means that you have an in-depth understanding of constitutionality.  I don't pretend to do so.  I leave that to the experts to sort out.

6/24/2013 11:35 AM
You also cited Aaron v Cooper. Again, should you have refrained from giving your opinion in that instance because you had no idea what you were talking about?