Does spring training matter? Topic

Im relatively new to thru game, so id be interested to hear what the vets have to say. the last few seasons, I've been resting all my my major league players the entirety of spring training. I've seen no ill effects from this. is there any good reason to play your major league players; risking injury and depleting stamina?
9/21/2012 9:53 PM
I find ST to be really boring and have been campaigning for it to be shortened, or made more relevant, for a while.

In my experience though, there are no ill effects from resting your fully developed ML players most (if not all) of ST. I give my ML vets very, very little playing time in ST.

ST does, however, give you the chance to get your prospects extra playing time (and therefore, theoretically, extra development) with your ML level coaches. That is the only useful thing I'm aware of regarding ST, getting your prospects a little extra field time to develop with what are, hopefully, your organization's best coaches.
9/22/2012 1:52 PM
Good point mongoose.
9/22/2012 3:31 PM
This post has a rating of , which is below the default threshold.
I play prospects only.  I fill out my ST roster with AAA - AA minor leaguers and ST-invite-only free agents.
10/2/2012 8:05 PM
I'm pretty sure that if you don't play older ML players at all they risk a slight ratings drop. I've always played my ML players in 4-5 games rather than risk it. I have had a season long injury in ST, so I'm may very well be taking needless risks.

10/3/2012 2:51 AM
I try to get my ML players 10 or so at bats and 5 innings or so. Though it depends from time to time because I only add real prospects or close to real prospects on my spring training club. I also worry about the possible ratings drop.

I also have gotten a rating increase on a prospect that didn't play at all in ST, assuming he was on the team. 
10/3/2012 9:23 AM
If you are going to play your ML players in ST, do it early, in case they get injured.
10/3/2012 10:06 AM