Question Exp. % Topic

What is Exp. %. If my real win % is .657 and my exp win % is .720 does that mean I am a poor manager or does that mean that based on my run differential I should have a better win %.

10/30/2009 11:20 AM
both? ;)

it is in fact your expected winning percentage. most likely it means you've won some blowouts.... 1 win, but 19 runs towards your run differential.
10/30/2009 11:21 AM
where does one find Exp % ?
10/30/2009 11:25 AM
Quote: Originally Posted By amycox67 on 10/30/2009Click on your league lick then click on View Advanced Standings top side of standing
Remember to practice safe licking !
10/30/2009 11:36 AM
thank you Amy
10/30/2009 11:42 AM
Exp. % is the Pythagorean Win % for your team. It has nothing to do with how many games you can expect to win going forward (it tends to be a slightly better predictor than your actual winning %, but not greatly so after 50 or 60 games), and it's based on run ratios rather than differential.

Exp % = (runs scored)^2/[(run scored)^2+(runs allowed)^2]
= 1/[1+(runs allowed/runs scored)^2]

If you assume that baseball scores follow a Weibull distribution then this formula statistically predicts how much a team should win based on its runs scored and allowed. However, teams with bullpens that are significantly superior or inferior to their starting staffs may perform above or below their overall anticipated win % in close games, skewing their real win% from their Pythagorean win %. The fact that not all pitchers on a staff are equal does interfere with the formula, which assumes that runs scored and allowed are independent; in reality, the closeness of a game can impact which pitchers are used, and not all pitchers on a team are equal.
10/30/2009 12:40 PM
bump for people not wanting to read below the first thread
10/30/2009 2:12 PM
Is that the formula used? I thought the 2.0 power of Runs Scored was demonstrated to be too high. the more accurate formula was something like the 1.7 power.
10/30/2009 3:28 PM