2011 NBA Finals Simulation Prediction Heat Mavs From WhatIfSports.com image

2011 NBA Finals Prediction - Heat vs Mavs

The Heat favored to win in seven games

By Joel Beall - WhatIfSports.com
May 27, 2011

The hubris and exuberance displayed at the Miami Heat welcoming party in July seemed blasphemous, almost serving as a championship parade before South Beach's superstars had stepped onto the hardwood. This vanity vaulted the Heat into permanent Haterade by the media and general public, as there's nothing more sacrilegious in sports than showcasing an underserved sense of accomplishment.

Yet despite every hurdle, whether perceived or authentic, the Heat have emerged as kings of the Eastern Conference mountain. They decimated top-seeded Chicago with four straight victories to earn their ticket to the NBA Finals. Regardless of the feelings one harbors towards the Heat, there's no denying the gauntlet they overcame to claim their conference crown.

Dirk Nowitzki knows something about obstacles. After coming out on the short end of the controversial 2006 NBA Finals, Nowitzki unleashed his vengeance on the rest of the NBA the following year: He earned the 2007 MVP and led the Mavericks to a league-best 67 wins. Alas, this season is best remembered for Dallas' epic collapse against Golden State. The Mavs lost to the eighth-seeded Warriors in six games in the opening round. The disgrace of failure was placed on the 7-footer's shoulders, a stigma that Nowitzki was seemingly unable to rid despite his continued excellence.

This sentiment was a catalyst for many critics choosing the Trail Blazers as a trendy upset over Dallas in the first round of this year's playoffs.

So it has been apropos that Nowitzki has left detractors in his wake, averaging 28.4 points and 7.6 rebounds in spring while disposing of Portland, the Los Angeles Lakers and Oklahoma City. Although he remains four wins away from the promised land, Nowitzki has rehabilitated his image and morphed from goat into one of the league's premier clutch-time performers.

Both the Mavericks and the Heat have defied their forecasts, but which will hold the Larry O'Brien Trophy? According to the WhatIfSports' simulation engine, the Heat beat the Mavs in 69.3 percent of the series simulations, with an average series win of Miami in seven games.

That being said, when have the Heat ever followed the expected protocol?

Simulate the 2011 NBA Finals: Heat vs. Mavericks for FREE!

Joel Beall is a Content Writer for WhatIfSports.com. He can be reached at jbeall@whatifsports.com.

Gridiron Dynasty

Coach, recruit, and run your own college football program.

Every DIA, DIAA, DII, & DIII College Awaits

SimLeague Baseball

Compete in a full season with your dream team from MLB past and present. Lineups, player settings, trades, prizes, and more.

Try It For Free

Hardball Dynasty

Run your own baseball franchise in this in-depth, multi-player baseball game.

Try It at a Discount

What is WhatIfSports?

WhatIfSports.com is a sports simulation and online gaming site providing free content and unique games for the MLB, NBA, NFL, NHL, NCAA sports and more.

Join WhatIfSports.com today to get these members only benefits:

  • Create your own Dream Team
  • Save your favorite SimMatchup results
  • Play a FREE SimLeague trial season
  • Start playing a Dynasty game
  • Manage baseball games LIVE
  • Access to SiteMail
  • Post in our Forums
  • Build a Buddy list to easily invite friends
  • Use our online Customer Service
  • Earn game credits by using our Referral & Affiliate program

New Terms of Use Customer Support New Privacy Statement Advertising Choices

© 1999-2018 WhatIfSports.com, Inc. All rights reserved. Use of this website (including any and all parts and components) constitutes your acceptance of these Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. WhatIfSports is a trademark of WhatIfSports.com, Inc. SimLeague, SimMatchup and iSimNow are trademarks or registered trademarks of Electronic Arts, Inc. Used under license. The names of actual companies and products mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.