© OFFICIAL 2012 CUBS THREAD Topic

I think you've read quite a bit of opinion into that post....that is clearly not the summary of what he said
11/18/2011 2:58 PM
I wasn't the one booing Sveum, I personally didn't care about his lack of discretion as a 3B coach once the Sox already had their rings.  But given how bad he was as a 3B coach, I was a bit surprised that he ranked so highly as a managerial candidate.  Granted that managing doesn't entail deciding whether to send runners home or not, but he established a poor ability to make snap decisions in that role.  I'd be a bit worried about him making questionable moves in high leverage situations.
11/18/2011 3:45 PM
So guys can't learn or adapt?  As a manager I really don't expect him to jump out of the dugout and start instinctively waving guys home.

Fortunately the Cubs don't look to be a contender for 2012, it will be OK for him to adjust to managing and get a feel for the game and decision-making.
11/18/2011 3:52 PM
and I've said it is entirely possible for him to turn into a good MLB manager....but there are logical reasons to not love him in Boston that have nothing to do with 'typical' fans here that just like to dump on people
11/18/2011 4:16 PM

MLB managers don't make snap decisions.   It's baseball.  They have plenty of time to make a decision.   Dude might be a sharp baseball mind but a **** judge of baserunning skills, speed and arm strength/accuracy.

11/18/2011 4:22 PM
Posted by MikeT23 on 11/18/2011 4:22:00 PM (view original):

MLB managers don't make snap decisions.   It's baseball.  They have plenty of time to make a decision.   Dude might be a sharp baseball mind but a **** judge of baserunning skills, speed and arm strength/accuracy.