2015 Orioles Thread - DEAD & BURIED Topic

Translation: "WAAAAAAA! $200mil doesn't buy a championship anymore!!!"
9/7/2012 4:01 PM
This post has a rating of , which is below the default threshold.
That's good news for the rest of the league because no one else can win unless the Yankees crap out. It's just not possible.
9/7/2012 4:14 PM
Posted by The Taint on 9/7/2012 4:08:00 PM (view original):
The Yanks are really close to a mid 80's like run.

Hmmmm......seems like I've been hearing that since 2001. 

9/7/2012 4:16 PM
Maybe in your own head. It's been the popular opinion for 2-3 years. And to the Yankees credit, they proved people wrong. But it's finally catching up to them now that so many other teams can match their spending for the top players.
9/7/2012 4:23 PM
Next year will be a bounceback year from New York with Mo back.  He'll have one good season left in the tank at least, and they draw a lot of their drive from him and Jeter still.  With 50% of that emotional core out it's hurt the Yankee mojo.  In 2 or 3 seasons though they'll be in real trouble if they can't talk A-Rod or Tex into taking a big pay cut off of their guaranteed contracts.  Good luck with that.
9/7/2012 4:47 PM
Sorry, but the addition of a 40+ year old closer cannot give a team that much of a boost. And after a knee injury like that at his age, it's highly unlikely he's the Mariano we're used to
9/7/2012 5:04 PM
For ****'s sake, jtpops.   If you say "The end is near for the Yankees" every ******* year, sooner or later, you have to be right.    Even us entitled Yankee fans know they can't win 90 games, make the playoffs or be a contender every goddam year.  At some point, they have to Red Sux Up!
9/7/2012 5:04 PM
Not according to you. You just finished telling us how 90+ wins is "expected". And I've been saying it for 2-3 years (along with many others). That's hardly a long time. It's not like I've been saying it for a decade and am now saying "ha! See, I was right!"
9/7/2012 5:06 PM