Posted by mullycj on 8/2/2014 10:36:00 PM (view original):
Success = Being good enough to play HD for free.
I hope to reach this status someday
8/4/2014 11:51 AM
Posted by bagger288 on 7/31/2014 3:20:00 PM (view original):
I am a very young coach in my HD career and am looking to find success at all levels (D3-D1). I have found some consistency in making a 20 win post season team but am still learning what it takes to become elite.

My question is What do you consider as a successful coach? 

Consistent NT appearences? Sweet 16? Championships? Consistent post season?

I was thinking of a goal of making at least the sweet 16 in every divison as none of my teams right now are immediatly ready for that, it would require me to learn and build and not just cherry pick a team.

Thanks!
I suppose you would need to define "successful" to completely answer the question. What one person views as successful another may not. However, I'm not sure I would use the word "successful" to define any coach.

8/4/2014 12:17 PM
The answer is relative. What I define as success and what someone else does will be very different. And what I would feel is an abject failure of a season would make 99% of this community think I was nuts.

However,

mully gave by far the best answer. It's the life :)
8/4/2014 12:56 PM
I'm not sure that I have a hard-and-fast definition of successful. I can point to some successful coaches, and I'd like to be as good as them someday, but I just tend to take goals one at a time. Here's about how my goals have progressed for D2/D3 (D1 is an entirely different animal, and I've never even made the PIT there, albeit in only five seasons across two worlds). Starting with the "new coach" goal and moving on to higher ones.