Is this guy a D1 PG? Topic

I'm pretty new to D1. I'm trying to figure out if this guy is a decent PG for a mid-major D1 team with D prestige, or if I should be aiming higher. All values are expected final ratings.

ATH:      65
SPD:      80
DEF:     70-75
LP:      35
PER:      60
BH:     75
PAS:     75
STA:      90
FT:      A-

12/28/2012 6:46 PM
No
12/28/2012 8:17 PM
Couldn't be much of a D1 Starting PG with the low Passing and pretty low Defense. He could be an OK bench guy, but I would shoot higher.
12/28/2012 10:45 PM
For a D prestige team, he'd be fine.  You'll want to try to recruit a little bit better of a player as your prestige increases, but for now, he'd be adequate.
12/29/2012 12:05 AM (edited)
i agree with emy.  he's better than the PG that will be starting for most D prestige D1's
12/29/2012 12:23 AM
i dont know about that. as low end d1 school, you should be aiming SIGNIFICANTLY higher than the elite d2 schools. that guy is a good d2 player no doubt, but hes really not even an awesome d2 player. in d1, on defense, he kind of sucks. on offense, he kind of sucks. as a pg, ball control skills, he kind of sucks. you can definitely find guys like that for your pg spot who have +10 spd, and +15 def or pass. that alone would make a world of difference.

dont get me wrong, a d prestige school can recruit this PG and be better than the other (mostly sim run, aka, terrible) d1 schools at d prestige. but your goal as any low end d1 team is to make the post season regularly so you can get your prestige up and get your jobs resume up. this pg would be one of the worst starting pgs in the post season. i just think you need to shoot higher. low end d1 schools should do a LOT of scouting, there are better players out there, you just have to find them.
12/29/2012 4:35 AM
Posted by emy1013 on 12/29/2012 12:05:00 AM (view original):