Half Court Press/Zone Topic

I am in D3 now and I took on a zone team, I'm just wondering if people have had success doing a half court/zone.  I'm guessing practice time might be an issue.  If I wanted to attempt to do this are there any suggestions?  Do you think I should just stick to one defensive set?  I'm definitely no expert with HD, and I'm still learning.  thanks for any suggestions. 
3/3/2013 12:48 PM
When I first started out, I picked up a Zone/Press team. I was moderately successful with it, but found I did better while pressing and eventually switched completely it. With the right players the press works very well. I haven't regretted making the switch. I know there are coaches who like doing both. I just felt like I could do better by concentrating on one thing and trying to excel at it.
3/3/2013 1:25 PM
Yeah I may stick with zone for now because that's where my IQ is the best, I'll see how it goes and maybe eventually will add the press to it.  
3/3/2013 2:20 PM

the debate on whether the zone can be really successful is still a bit up for debate by many, but thats mostly bceause there just aren't that many teams who run it and even less who really understand it. With that said, the flexibility it offers is the key to running it successfully.

3/3/2013 3:13 PM
I haven't paid too much attention to DI, or any other world aside from Allen, and just know coaches I've either talked to in depth or are in the Allen world who are very successful with the zone in DII/DIII.  The zone, run properly, can be just as effective as any other defense.  I know people are going to raise they're hands and say blasphemy!!! But it does a great job at keeping teams below 40% FG and normally you foul much less than an opponent, where in a given season you Make way more Foul shots than your opponents shoot.  Some examples are ...

D2 Incarnate Word/Knight
D3 Thomas/Allen
D2 S. Arkansas/Allen
D2 Findlay/Allen
D3 Calvin/Wooden