Coaching Job Question Topic

I am considering applying for a D1 job and am currently coaching a D1-AA school. I am only qualified for the "lesser" tiered D1 schools though...My worry is I had a good recruiting last year with my current school, so I don't want to lose it if I don't get hired by any D1 schools I apply to. I've only been hired twice so I have no experience with if no schools hire me.

If it says "Qualified" does that pretty much GUARANTEE you will be selected?

Also, would you say I'm better off MASTERING D1-AA and getting qualified for ALL D1 schools, or make the jump now even if to a lower tier school while I have the chance?

Thanks in advance guys!
4/4/2013 8:34 AM
Posted by notrekane on 4/4/2013 8:34:00 AM (view original):
I am considering applying for a D1 job and am currently coaching a D1-AA school. I am only qualified for the "lesser" tiered D1 schools though...My worry is I had a good recruiting last year with my current school, so I don't want to lose it if I don't get hired by any D1 schools I apply to. I've only been hired twice so I have no experience with if no schools hire me.

If it says "Qualified" does that pretty much GUARANTEE you will be selected?

Also, would you say I'm better off MASTERING D1-AA and getting qualified for ALL D1 schools, or make the jump now even if to a lower tier school while I have the chance?

Thanks in advance guys!
Qualified means that you have the qualifications to apply for the job, there are no guarantees. 

You've only been in D1AA for a single season. My advice is to stay there at least two more seasons (three would be better), do well (especially if you can get a CC or two), and you'll not only be qualified for bottom feeder mid-majors, but BCS schools as well.
4/4/2013 9:58 AM
My only worry is, what if I do crappy or average over the next 3 seasons? Will that REMOVE my chance to move up to D1 bottom tier schools?
4/5/2013 8:34 AM