I am new to the game. if someone can give me a few tips, like what I should be looking for in terms of ratings for SP, closers, leadoff hitters, and ML ready players.
11/9/2012 9:15 PM
Hook up with a mentor, see the Mentor thread in this forum.
11/9/2012 9:47 PM
Posted by tecwrg on 11/9/2012 9:47:00 PM (view original):
Hook up with a mentor, see the Mentor thread in this forum.
+1

Also, your question is extremely broad making it difficult to answer in a forum like this. Look at the successful players in your world and see what traits they have in common.
11/9/2012 10:00 PM
Best tip I got when new was to not make a trade without at least one mentor type looking it over to make sure I was making out OK. If someone offers you a deal, A) have someone outside your world look at it for you and B) figure out what is attractive about the player being asked for. As you see what ratings and players people try to get from you, you'll see patterns as to what skill sets they have that make them desirable. There are plenty of players who will make you fair, win-win offers. There are also plenty who will try to rip off everything you have of value for a bunch of bad contracts and career minor leaguers.
11/10/2012 12:27 AM
Rule #1:  If you're not sure, don't do it.

Beyond that, look for good splits in both pitchers and hitters.   They aren't the be all to end all but you'll find very few successful players with splits below 50.   BL "average" is probably around 60.    A hitter can have 1 good, 1 bad and be platooned.  Not so much with pitchers.    Everything else works in conjunction with one another(and with the splits).

Don't neglect fielding.  Good fielding can cover for less than stellar pitching.
11/10/2012 9:30 AM