Hit and Run Experiment Topic

I've never used the H/R before as its clearly one of the dumbest mangerial moves ever invented, but I thought I would draft a team with minimal walks, minimal k's, and put them in an optimal environment to see if the H/R could actually provide value under the right circumstances. Pretty unimpressive so far. Team has scored a below average number of runs despite being in a +2 singles park. To be fair, part of the problem is lack of attempts to H/R despite having the setting on '5'. Here is a couple screenshots of the roster...

9/24/2010 1:50 PM (edited)
Do the players have to have a certain speed rating in order for the sim to H/R as often as you want them too?
9/24/2010 2:36 PM
Preface point: I am an idiot. And I play 90% progs and 10% themes.
The second point in no way proves the first. I have many examples as to why the first is true, but that is a whole 'nuther topic.

But awhile ago in one of these forums, someone posted that if you put your hit/run and base running agress at 5 that the players predisposed (high speed) will be the ones most taking advantage of it, but added that somehow the c's arm plays a role?

So me being me, I believed the poster. So when I have a group on a certain team that has above average speed, I've been putting the settings for h/r & br/ag on 5 and coupled that w/ the advanced hitting individual settings. I noticed more sb's and more runs scored, granted my sample size is small, but even when I moved settings from 3 to 5, it seemed my production went up.

I also noted, if I had a player batting 2nd w/ a low speed rating, the O was not as productive. So I look to put top speed guys at 1 and 2 and no "speed- slouch" hitting 3rd, even if it means giving up some obp. I still look to put my best hitter at 3, but often flip/flop a 3and 5 hitter, if the one hitter has better speed ratings
9/24/2010 3:31 PM
This post has a rating of , which is below the default threshold.
you had to bring this up huh!