Game Plans...How do I make good ones? Topic

I'm new to GD and I've been trying to make some good game plans, but they never seem to work out very good.  Could anyone give me some tips or advice on how to make really good game plans?

Do coaches research their next opponent and cater their next game plan to that team?  Or do they find out what formations their players are really good at and form their plans around their players' strengths?  

joshiedarko
10/22/2012 1:10 AM
How is your team built ?  Lots of WR but few rb's  you figure to be passing team. Turn it around and you figure to run lots more. Other things to consider are is qb decent (dont want him throwing a lot if he sucks ; too many interceptions)
    Once you kind of know How you want to get there, realize you are just planning a journey from wherever you get the ball to the end zone .
Familiarize yourself with game plan charts and fill em in accordingly.
          There is no right or wrong - If it works.  So I recommend creating your gameplan according to the strength of your team.

10/22/2012 4:44 AM
With one full season under your belt and a conference championship to show for it, you are not doing too bad.

I took a quick look at your team and you appear to have pretty good talent.  Not top 10, but certainly competitive.  TE, OL, and DL are the areas most lacking.

Now to your question....if you don't have proper talent, nothing else matters....thats why I mentioned talent first. 

1.  Pick 2 or 3 offensive formations and 2 or 3 defensive formations and focus on them.  I only practice 2 O formations and 3 D formations.  You can still use the others, but its tough to have proper talent to run both the Shotgun and the Wishbone (for example).