Posted by wolves16 on 11/5/2012 5:40:00 PM (view original):
how do the rules apply if a player has never been arb'ed? I dont know how to tell but it seems like the owner before me just signed the player long term every chance he had.
If a guy has 6 or more years of ML service and isn't otherwise signed to a contract, he's a FA, regardless of whether he's ever been through arbitration or not. Players don't have a certain number of arb years that you get to use when you please - they are eligible for arbitration if they have 3, 4, or 5 years of service time and aren't otherwise signed.