How to make my team not shoot so many threes? Topic

Well I'm a new coach and I have two players who are 99 and 90 on perimeter, so on the first exhibition game I played against Indiana State, I went to player game plan and set them both to +2 on 3 point shot, so they would take more, and everyone else was below that, well we beat Indiana State but we took 30 threes, so I went and lowered it to +1 before our next exhibition game against Penn State, that game we ended up shooting 28 threes. I want my guys to be shooting threes, but not 30 a game, I don't want to live and die by the three, and it seems like those are the only shots those two guys take, so could someone tell me how I could lower my total threes taken from 30 to about 15 or so?
2/20/2013 5:26 PM
You actually might want both of those guys at +2, especially the one with 99 perimeter. With that being said, you can bring them down to 0 or -1 and you'll see a decrease. At 0, players still shoot a good amount of threes, so you might like that option.
2/20/2013 5:28 PM
I understand where you're coming from and I would love for them to take a lot of threes if they could hit most of them, but for instance, against Penn St, my 99 ovr shooter was 3-10 from 3 and my 90 ovr was 5-14, and against Indiana St my 99 shooter was 7-18 and my 90 ovr was 3-8
2/20/2013 5:36 PM
Keep in mind you were playing D1 teams which presumably have decent defenses, especially by D3 standards -- your shooters will have better success against weaker D3 defenses. Heck, I'll take 7-for-18 every day of the week and not think twice about bombing away at +2 with the guy.
2/20/2013 5:46 PM
You have a point, I guess we'll have to see how well they play tomorrow.
2/20/2013 5:49 PM
Adjusted for 3-pt shooting,  3 of 10 is 45%;   5 of 14 is 53%;  7 of 18 is 58.3%, and 3 of 8 is 56.3% .

Nothing wrong with those numbers!  But you can lower their 3's by setting them to 0, rather than +1. 
2/20/2013 5:50 PM