Recruiting up a Level??? Topic

Hey, I'm a newb at this game. I've really enjoyed it, and I want to make sure I can have as much success as possible. I am currently playing in two different worlds and am quite pleased with the relative success of both programs. However, I have a frustrating challenge I have to overcome. For both teams (Coast Guard and Trinity) I focused on recruiting players close to my location who weren't being targeted by any other programs. I thought it was going quite well, I saved a lot of money and still found some pretty decent players. Going in to the last day at Trinity (this happened at both schools but I'll use Trinity as the example) I had signed 13 players and had 7 scholarships left. The seven players I wanted had all been offered scholarships and were green. I was the only school who had an interest in them. I assumed that they would all sign with me at the last moment, or worst case scenario, I would go into the season without those scholarships filled and have them left over for the next year. Well, I guess you all know what happened. My "assistant coach" went out and signed some of the crappiest players I could imagine. Seriously, a cornerback with 23 speed??? The worst part was, I had $45,000 saved and it was all gone! I was so mad, I probably wouldn't have played on past this season if both teams hadn't overachieved.