Trading for Rule 5 guy Topic

If a guy last season was drafted in the rule 5 draft and thus was added to the Big league roster of the team that picked him, who then in turn traded him to another team who also kept him on the MLB roster.

This season they kept the player on the 40man roster but have him in AAA. If I trade for him I want to put him in AAA, do I have to keep him on the 40man roster too though? I was just going to assign him to AAA. 
4/25/2013 12:08 PM
The rule 5 issue is irrelevant. Rule 5 status has no impact beyond the season in which he was drafted. 

The question is whether the player you want to trade for has options remaining.
4/25/2013 12:16 PM
Trading for Rule 5 guy Topic

Search Criteria

Terms of Use Customer Support Privacy Statement

© 1999-2018, Inc. All rights reserved. WhatIfSports is a trademark of, Inc. SimLeague, SimMatchup and iSimNow are trademarks or registered trademarks of Electronic Arts, Inc. Used under license. The names of actual companies and products mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.