Getting Recruits to Consider Your School Topic

I am new to this whole thing... and I have just a couple of questions for the vets. Is it helpful to call the recruit multiple times or send multiple packets of information? Do they stack? What is the approach you take when trying to get recruits to consider you?
5/9/2013 1:10 PM
Don't waste your time with packets of information. Call the recruit to find out if he can be recruited by your school, then offer home visit or campus visit depending on your distance with a scholarship. 
5/9/2013 1:19 PM
If the player's already on your DIII recruiting page, you don't have to call him first. You can recruit him right away.  And, yes, the efforts stack...i.e.  2 scouting trips is worth more than 1. You don't have to offer them both in the same cycle, however.

If it's a DII player you want, then gvsujulius is correct. Call them one time to find out if they're recruitable.  If so , he'll eventually 'drop' to your DIII list and you can recruit him. OR, you can 'pull him down' sooner with enough effort.  It's risky, and expensive,  and shouldn't be tried unless the player lives near your school.
5/9/2013 2:20 PM
As gvsujulius said, the HV or CV, depending on your distance is the best tool. Generally 2 HVs and a scholarship or 1 CV and a scholarship are sufficient to get them considering you. This of course assumes that they are immediately recruitable to you and not a higher division pulldown. If they are a pulldown then you will have to go through a certain number of scouting trips to pull them down before they will ever consider you.
5/9/2013 2:21 PM
They stack but the issue will phone calls and packet is they don't have "recruiting value" until you get out past 1500 miles or so.. &#160; Think of it this way, your effort equates to some sort of numerical value.&#160; <br />
<br />
The value chart is something like this: <br />
<br />
Phone call= 2 <br />
Letters =3 <br />
ST= 45<br />
HV= 150 <br />
CV= 350 <br />