Am I wrong to think this guy could catch? Topic

I'm pretty new to this, I have an NL team and this is one of my prospects, JD Ramirez , he does me little good as a DH, but looking at his defense ratings it seems like he could be an averagish catcher defensively maybe?  i'm trying to get a better understanding of the ratings to set up my team for the future, so thanks for the help!
6/11/2013 6:06 PM
0 Range will mean a lot of PB. You can look at your world stats or pick another 1-2 worlds and see who leads the league in PB.  Then you can decide if his bat is worth that many or more. I've played 0 range Cs who can hit.

His throwing arm is pretty weak. Again, look at the stats. See what Cs get run on  Look at their arms. Estimate how many bases he'll give up.

PC is low.  I think Mike or someone did some analysis you can find in a post here.  I don't recall how much data went into it. Consensus seems to be better PC helps, but I don't think anyone know to what degree.

Bottom line is he's going to cost you runs.  You'll have to decide if he hits better than your other C options to be worth it.
6/11/2013 6:17 PM
Defensive recommendations for a catcher are 10/30/75/75/50.

Your guy checks in at 0/16/63/53/41 (current ratings, can't see his projections).

He falls well short in all categories, with probable future development not gaining anything significant.
6/11/2013 6:20 PM
thanks for the input, another question i was trying to look up league leaders from previous seasons to look at things like that, but i couldn't that anywhere.  the league leaders section wouldnt let me pick prior seasons, where can i find that?
6/11/2013 6:26 PM
It's probably faster to look at other worlds that are late in the season to do this kind of research.

To look at your world, you'll have to start with team stats. You can find the teams with the most/fewest PB. And best/worse CS percentage.

Then you can look at team stats and from there get to their C and see their ratings.