I am relatively new to this in my second season in a couple of Worlds and jumped up to D2 in one.
IF you are a battling 1 Sim for a player and it is past the start of the signing period and even if the player keeps giving you
the "you are tops on my list" line--IF I don't spend anymore money--is there any chance he will sign with me before the end of the  signing period or am I just out of luck if I have run out of money to spend on this player?
I have spent over $9000 on him with 6 campus visits, 2 head coaches visits, and a guaranteed freshmen start. This 1 sim I am battling has been sim coached for 5 or more years and was 6-7 last year and was ranked 114. It is not like it is a great team I am battling. I just got back the "I wonder what the campus looks like" message and am just about out of money.  IF I send another campus visit--which would put me over $10000 spent on him--it would just about break me. IF I was certain he would sign--I might do it--but can't take the chance. Has anybody had a player sign when still battling a sim without spending anymore money?
8/20/2013 5:14 PM
Sims don't spend money, they spend recruiting points. If you don't knock them off early they keep spending until out. No way to know if they are out. In the future if battling sim you have to knock off in the first few cycles. 3 CVs on the first or second cycle usually does it.
8/20/2013 7:39 PM
And I'm surprised 6 CVs didn't already do it regardless.
8/20/2013 7:41 PM
Also don't waste money on HC visits. Only thing to use are AC scouting trip and CVs. IMO.
8/20/2013 7:43 PM
Sent the 7th CV and it still didn't get him to commit. Got the dreaded "Just say the word and I'm there". Don't have the money to do anything else.
8/21/2013 3:59 AM
It is easier to turn a player that is considering 3 Sims than a player that is considering only 1 Sim. That 1 Sim can be as tough as battling a human. Usually need to hit player with 2x the recruiting effort.
8/21/2013 10:46 AM