Is it ok to redshirt a sophomore? Topic

Hello guys first post love this game so far. I've got a Soph. QB that i inherited when i took over my first team. Is it ok to redshirt him? What's the pro's and cons. Thank you.
9/1/2013 2:06 PM
You can do it.  The biggest issue is that he will lose WE (I can't remember how much but probably 1/3 to 1/2).  This will slow his growth over his remaining time on the team, especially if he does not start next season (which is unlikely with your other QBs). 

He is not a bad QB and in your case I think it might start that kid vs the two Jrs.  Next season recruit the best QB you can get and put a RS on him.  Regarding the QB situation, think long term.  I think most coaches (or at least I do it this way) will always RS their QBs and recruit one every other season so at a minimum you have a RS Jr who can start. 
9/1/2013 2:19 PM
Makes sense. Thank you.
So Im starting Payne the Jr because of his str at 50 vs the Soph at 37. Plus better hands. Im a newbie so Id love to hear your reasoning for your recommendations.
9/1/2013 2:43 PM (edited)
Posted by rlslmshdy on 9/1/2013 2:07:00 PM (view original):
Hello guys first post love this game so far. I've got a Soph. QB that i inherited when i took over my first team. Is it ok to redshirt him? What's the pro's and cons. Thank you.
Redshirting a Soph will result in a loss between 7-12 points of WE.  The con is that you lose a little work ethic.  The pro is he will still grow, if he isn't tapped out and you will have him an extra season.
9/1/2013 3:34 PM
You have to make sure too that you have not given him a PR start in his SO season. If so his WE could just about bottom out.
9/1/2013 5:11 PM