Four (and a half at the time of writing) weeks into the season and the strongest feeling I have about my team is that the punter seems to be on the field more than anyone else. For example, here are the first half drives against my current opponent:

3 Plays, 5 Yards, 0:58, Punt
5 Plays, 24 Yards, 2:39, Punt
3 Plays, 0 Yards, 0:24, Punt
3 Plays, 64 Yards, 1:12, Touchdown
2 Plays, 38 Yards, 0:30, Touchdown
3 Plays, 5 Yards, 1:25, Punt
4 Plays, 15 Yards, 1:25, Punt
3 Plays, -2 Yards, 2:05, Punt
3 Plays, 14 Yards, 0:14, End of Half

I coach Salisbury University in D-III MAC conference. It's my first years after many seasons of it being run into the ground by a computer, so i'm trying to temper my expectations. After all, the program is in bad shape if all of my recruits have starting jobs. I run a Trips centered offense (Pass, balanced), with a mixture of shotgun (Heavy pass, aggressive) and wishbone (Run, balanced). It just seems like I should be getting more out of my offense when my backs rush for  4.6 YPC and my QB has completion percentage of 54% (I know that's not too good, but still.

What are way I may fix that? Should I change my gameplan to be more conservative? Aggressive? Should I go more towards the run if my QB can only complete half of his throws? I'm open to any advice.

10/16/2013 10:06 AM
Everything is about to change, so don't take anything hard now. 
10/16/2013 8:02 PM
You just have to be patient and build a better team. If you recruit the correct way you can see changes quickly at the d-III level. Do everything you can to avoid the asst filling schollies. Also, check out the core stats for each position and ignore overall rating.
10/16/2013 8:10 PM

Search Criteria

Terms of Use Customer Support Privacy Statement