STL vs. Better Ratings Topic

Simply, how big of a core ratings deficit should I be willing to live with in the interest of bringing in an STL/Tremendous Upside player rather than a High (but not STL) upside player.  Assume I'm willing to redshirt.  And would the answer to this question differ by position (i.e., maybe the STL potential is a bigger deal for a QB but Core Ratings are more important for a WR -- no idea if this is true I'm just spitballing).

Really appreciate any feedback as I'm new to GD but have played lots of HD and am not sure whether the calculus here is roughly the same.
10/18/2013 11:31 AM
OK, now that I've got my guy and don't have to worry about him getting poached I'll be more specific.  I just signed  Gridiron Dynasty - Football Sim Games - Recruit Profile: Bernard Graham in Rockne.  He has STL potential.  I chose him over several other QB's that had High potential and better ratings (I think their GUESS ratings were like 33/34 and Graham's is like 30/31.  Was this smart?  Is he a MUCH better option, worse, or about the same?  Does the fact that he's a QB affect the answer relative to another position.  I will definitely be redshirting him this year and since I don't have a much better option could start him as early as next year if that helps development.  Really appreciate any feedback that could inform how I use him as well as future recruiting.
10/18/2013 12:19 PM
His WE and Tech are horrific, even for DIII.  However, if you don't need him to start any time soon it will be a fun growth curve to watch.  He may be serviceable as a RS Sr...
10/18/2013 12:42 PM
Posted by clememp on 10/18/2013 12:42:00 PM (view original):
His WE and Tech are horrific, even for DIII.  However, if you don't need him to start any time soon it will be a fun growth curve to watch.  He may be serviceable as a RS Sr...
Yeah, I'm not sure I'd ever go after a guy with all of his cores in the 20's.