Amateur Draft, Age, Progression, Make up Topic

Rather than being the new guy that asks who I should draft, I am going to ask for you guys to educate me a bit. I am brand new to HBD and have the 1st pick in the upcoming draft. I have asked 2 very experienced owners this question and got 2 very different answers so I need more input.

There are 5 players at the top of the draft projected to top out between 86-88 overall (i understand overall can be misleading). I like the #1 player on the board a lot but he is a 22 year old pitcher with a make up of 38. It scares the crap out of me that already being 22 with such a low make up means he will top out quickly and wont reach his projections... by alot. So my question is how much do you guys put into consideration age and make up when drafting. I know age has an effect on IFAs but not so sure it has as much impact on the amateur draft guys.

Thank you in advance!
3/11/2014 9:43 AM
1) Age has a modest but measurable effect on development for college players.  It's not like IFAs-- a 22 year old still figures to make, typically, 12-15 points of improvement in key categories, obviously with some variability-- but for draft prospects I lower my expectations by about 2 points per key category for each year of age over 18.
2) Makeup is similarly real but modest in impact, in my opinion, although I feel less certain that I am right about this than I do about age.  As long as the makeup isn't really low (say, under 30) I generally see only a few points less improvement in key categories in low-makeup guys compared to high makeup guys.

I'd be interested in what others have to say about makeup; I haven't watched it as carefully as age.

3/11/2014 10:06 AM
If you want a good answer, go look at a previous draft from 4-6 seasons ago.   Check the development between the 18 y/o and 22 y/o who were drafted near one another.