Migrating WIS to a free to play model (HD) Topic

I'm no expert on the subject but the landscape of gaming online has changed the past 10 years. 10 dollars for a season to most is now expensive in comparison to other options. Free to play has become widely popular. For those who don't know its basically, game is free to play but has limited features and tons of ads.

WIS is at it' best in fuller worlds with human coaches. Sim AI is basically a walk over game for the most part.

Heres my basic idea.

Division 3 is free. Anyone an enter, but division 3 also gives no rewards and is full of ads. For vets who like D3 they can continue to play there for free, as they likely are already going to the sweet 16 every year and play off rewards. For new players it doesn't feel like a waste of money learning the game. In addition you can pay to play without ads at this level. Say 5 dollars a season, but still there is no rewards.

Division 2 and 1 require payment to play in like the current system, you can pay a smaller fee say 5 dollar a season and play with ads or pay the full 10 bucks and get the regular experience like you do now.

I'd love to see something like this. I doubt it will ever happen.
5/14/2014 1:49 AM
Interesting idea, but I don't think HD is high enough up either the WIS or Fox Sports hierarchy of "things that matter" to be anything other than a low-cost revenue stream for them.
5/14/2014 2:16 AM
I'm not sure that cost is the key factor to not having more new coaches, I would say it's the fact that it's relatively unknown.  10 a season is a deterrent for many, but if it was advertised more and more people were aware I think the number of coaches would grow regardless of 0, 5 or 10.

I wasn't here for the free season promo, did that bring in an influx of new coaches?
5/14/2014 8:07 AM