Can I make the D-III playoffs? Topic

I have done the math correctly, I think.  My team is Ohio Wesleyan in Warner.  I am currently #33 WIS.  I just lost my only conference game today so I am not in the championship tonight.

There are 19 automatic bids, I'm assuming.  I have calculated that there will be 3 teams from outside the WIS top 32 that are guaranteed to win tonight, so that means the 13 at-large teams will come from spots all the way up to WIS #29 and no higher.

If ALL the higher WIS-ranked teams tonight, I could land smack on #29.  Here are the 4 game I think could do it.

Huntingdon beats #32 New Jersey
Husson  beats #28 Albion
Wisconsin Platt beats #30 Wisconsin Stout
St. Olaf beats #29 Aubsburg

Since I'm not playing and those 4 teams could drop below me in WIS, would I get the final playoff spot at #29 is WIS rankings?  Humor me, this is my first year and I have no idea how this works.

8/4/2014 7:08 PM
This is the attention to detail that makes for a great coach. It sounds like you should make it. But if you don't, keep at it.

You should be able to move up to D-2 after this season, which gives you more opportunity for customizing your team. I would encourage it. 
8/4/2014 7:21 PM (edited)
Thanks for the encouragement, bj.  From browsing around the forums I sense the frustration of the more experienced coaches who seemed to like coaching at D-III all the time.  Whether I make it or not, I'm pretty sure I want to stick with this team for just one more season.  I will have my entire O-line returning and two stellar RBs entering their senior season.  

I am looking forward to D-II, though.  I see the micromanagement possibilities and I LIKE IT.  I've been playing Banished non-stop for the last 3 months and its all about numbers. 
8/4/2014 7:26 PM
bj is right....you are right on the bubble and it could go either way.  Even if those four teams lose, they might not drop below you.