really dumb question about defensive stats Topic

i'm pretty new to this, so please forgive my ignorance.  I cannot find anywhere in the WIS FAQs or in the Forums that explains to me exactly what the defensive ratings are.  if a player is rated A/C, what does the A represent and what does the C represent.  I believe that the A/C/B rating scale signifies that the catchers arm is a B, but i still cant fathom what the first two figures represent...  Range, arm, accuracy, fleetness of foot?  Please advise.  I apologize again in advance if this is a stupid question, but i cannot find any resource that explains it definitively.
8/25/2014 8:05 PM
The first letter is the fielding grade (based on fielding % relative to his peers that season), and the second is the range grade (based on RRF relative to peers that season) 
8/25/2014 8:29 PM
Skunk, thanks so much for the response.  I'm only in my second season, and i'm discovering that defense can be important....
As a follow up pair of questions: the first grade is glove, the second grade is feet?  Are the measurements on an absolute scale or relative to peers (normalized or raw)?
8/25/2014 8:44 PM
The letter grades are relative to peers.  If you do an advanced stat search though you can sort by RRF for the individual positions and Fielding % by the individual positions, and then it's easier to compare players directly to each other across all eras.
8/25/2014 8:58 PM
I have another related question, and not sure if i should start a new thread....