Am I getting screwed here? Topic

I need some advice here. Bear with me because there's some backstory.

I only have a half season of experience in HD, but 14 years in fantasy dynasty leagues. And I'm damn good at fantasy baseball. There are definitely some differences, but I have some knowledge, I enjoy HD so far, and am eager to learn how to become really good at it. That takes trial and error.

I joined the 7yankees7 league. They had one team left, so I took it. The team has some pretty high priced older players, some with horrible contracts. The minor league system is bare also.

My plan was to acquire some decent minor leaguers who were ready to be productive ML players so I could compete at a ML level while still reducing salary. I was looking for young (21-25 year olds), controllable players with solid defensive stats and 69-73 OVR levels. Meanwhile, I would max out my international prospect and scouting funds, max out my HS scouting fund (the league average there has historically been lower than college), and look to rebuild the lower and mid minors with some high end talent. I'd have a large surplus of ML payroll that I could also use to purchase more prospects or other players to keep me competitive until I got some prospects developed. All of the above has come from me religiously reading the forums and studying a lot of the top HD players.
So I moved quickly. I set up 5 different trades for my 6 highest salaried players, including one superstar, and in return was to receive 14 players - all but two ranked 69 to 75, with solid defense and OBP skills for offensive players, and good control and stamina for the pitchers. The other two players were lower level, high ceiling, blue-chip guys. Oh, I also had $17 million coming my way.