From reading these forums it appears that the importance of recruit proximity plays an important role at Div 1A. Most of my time comes from D3 and recently D2 where it doesn't seem that important. D3 at least the extra costs associated with recruiting a guy 600 miles away against a school where the player is 20 miles. $400 a CV adds up quick based on 12 recruits and 36k ................In D2 that additional $400 per CV isn't that big of deal when you have 72k to spend (6k per player). Since I am fairly new to D2 and still building, I notice that even if I have a recruit 1 mile away,   I can't stop someone from 700 miles away from coming in and stealing that player. So is that accurate? ...that the #1 most important recruiting tool in Div 2 is a winning record and thus good prestige?   
2/25/2015 10:57 AM
I think winning matters, but it's not the only thing.  History and prestige matter as well.  If your program has a history of losing games to another, it will lose recruits as well.  Also, system seems to matter.  I run a wishbone, and I have a lot more success recruiting runners and blockers than I do quarterbacks and receivers.
2/25/2015 4:39 PM
Winning, prestige, reputation, location, system and random ****ing chance. Im nearing the end of a recruiting cycle right now: I've lost out on players under a 100 miles away to lesser schools much farther away and I've beaten out better teams closer than me for guys 500 miles away from me. It more a feeling than a science. You have to read the responses you get right. 
2/25/2015 4:58 PM
Posted by johnnyf on 2/25/2015 4:58:00 PM (view original):
Winning, prestige, reputation, location, system and random ****ing chance. Im nearing the end of a recruiting cycle right now: I've lost out on players under a 100 miles away to lesser schools much farther away and I've beaten out better teams closer than me for guys 500 miles away from me. It more a feeling than a science. You have to read the responses you get right.