Low minutes players = lousy results? Topic

I'm not that experienced in this game, so I ask you veteran owners--what's the deal with low minutes (200-250) players? I have consistently gotten awful performances out of some pretty good real-life players. Numbers are WAY off from real life, much more so than with other, higher minutes guys. I'm talking at 100% efficiency--using them maybe once every 3 or 4 games for 10-12 minutes per. Currently I have 95-96 Doug Christie, with an actual eFG% of 54.8%, shooting 20% at mid-season, halfway through his total 218 minutes. His A/T is 0.6, less than half of his real-life 1.3 (he's already surpassed his real season total in TOs). This is not an isolated experience, I've had similar results with other low-minutes guys not approaching their real-life performance.
Have others seen this? Is this just bad luck or a weirdness in the sim?
7/30/2015 8:08 PM
sample size
7/30/2015 8:18 PM
When you take a super low minute player you will see wild fluctuations because, as copernicus said, sample size is too small.  If your player plays a little too much (if he plays three minutes in a game it will cause a problem quickly) it can cause a big drop off in performance, it also has to do with who is playing against the player and the lineup that the player is in.  

If that Doug Christie is the leading usage guy in that lineup you will have to contend with a guy that shouldn't have the ball in his hands while suffering the usage penalty.  Doug Christie may be playing against Lebron and Durant a lot while he is in the game.  That would get him killed if he is also the high usage guy in the lineup.  The other team may also be playing you +3 as well.  

You may just be getting sebled though.
7/31/2015 12:03 AM
Say a guy has 246 minutes.