Progression tricks & tips Topic

I'm a newbie who has tried reading through a lot of the forums for advice and what not and I remember reading about two tricks in particular that I can't go back and find for the life of me. I'll try to outline them as I remember, can someone clear up or confirm?

1. A formula for estimating a prospect's final developed ratings based on their INITIAL ratings and FIRST YEAR DEVELOPMENT. IIRC, it went something like (# of points of development in first year) * 2.5 + Initial rating = solid estimate for their true potential. So for example, a new pitcher has a vsRH of 50 at signing and increases 8 points the rest of that developmental year. (8)*2.5 + 50 = 70. So, 70 would be a great estimate for what they will peak at.

2. Max training/medical budget to 20. If a player gets hurt in anyway (even a 3 day injury) put them on 60 day DL. And they will get huge bumps WHILE ON THE DL and healthy?

4/15/2016 7:44 PM
The second one works some of the time but not all of the time. This guy:

https://www.whatifsports.com/HBD/Pages/Popups/PlayerRatings.aspx?pid=7449492

went down for 7 days with a sore shoulder so I gave him the super soilder treatment. It works well to bump up those 'hard to increase' stats like health and durability.
4/16/2016 8:30 AM
I double a prospects first FULL year of development points as a general rule of where I think they will top out.
4/17/2016 11:51 AM
Thanks for the input
4/17/2016 1:38 PM
would that change due to age...college or hs prospect?
4/21/2016 11:31 AM
The formula you outlined in #1 was extremely reliable prior to the most recent round of updates/changes in gameplay, but the goal of those updates was to essentially make that formula useless or at least much less reliable. I have not yet figured out a formula to perform that sort of projection using the new updates.
4/27/2016 3:44 PM