Is this guy worth it? Topic

https://www.whatifsports.com/HBD/Pages/Popups/PlayerRatings.aspx?pid=6876430

Newbie here, guy wants 14mil over 4 years....seems like a lot.
4/27/2016 2:46 PM
Nope. He is not.
4/27/2016 3:04 PM
Thanks, didn't think so.
4/27/2016 3:22 PM
What Mike said. That VsR is a disaster and the lack of control just adds to it.
4/27/2016 5:38 PM
Posted by hockey1984 on 4/27/2016 5:38:00 PM (view original):
What Mike said. That VsR is a disaster and the lack of control just adds to it.
VsR?
4/27/2016 6:27 PM
vs RHB (heading shows up as just R). Split vs. RH batters. An important rating.
4/28/2016 1:50 AM
You can get away with a left handed pitcher being bad against right handed batters if they are very good in all other categories. With this guys control the way it is, he will walk too many, a big right handed hitter will come up to bat and the ball game will be over more times then you would like.
4/28/2016 6:32 AM
The key pitching ratings are VsR, CON, VsL (< VsR),and P1. 70 is a marginal major league pitching rating; 75 is average or slightly better. If a pitcher has one or more key ratings below 70 he will have to have one or more of the other key ratings be above 75 to balance that weakness or he will not be a major league pitcher.

This is a guy who will get hit around in AAA,much less the bigs; 3 of his key ratings are way below 70.

Finally, while I almost never throw out a player based on a single rating, I have never seen a pitcher with VsR < 50 who was better than a marginal major league pitcher.
4/28/2016 3:27 PM
I've had a few guys that are right on the cusp of 50 for VsR (49,48) that were off an on effective. That being said, they all had control in the high 80's with their first two pitches bordering on 90's. Even still, those guys were (as Mike would call them) 1 arb guys. Also helps that my main squad plays in San Diego, so I can get away with a lot worse pitching.