The Myth of GD 1.0 Topic

This topic came up a few CJ Sweat Wilkinson Shows ago and I immediately put it in my article idea queue for later discussion. So I finally got some time to write about the persistent myth of GD 1.0 that never seems to die. If you're interested in that history lesson, proceed...

The Myth of GD 1.0
8/26/2016 1:16 PM
Great stuff! Brings back some memories (and nightmares)...
8/26/2016 3:27 PM
Well said, sir.

I started in 1.0. I wasn't around enough to be a great coach, but I studied the way the great coaches built and ran their teams and came to a similar conclusion the run was favored because it minimized uncertainty. To the point I'd read play by play of the best teams going head to head and as soon as one punted, their odds of winning plummeted dramatically. Like watching a poker game where 49 of the cards are aces and you see one player get dealt a 3. I wasn't yet a very good coach, but once I came to the conclusion that's the pinnacle of success, I quit.

I didn't quit because running was the "only way to go" but because the outcomes were so consistent and reliable, and to me that wasn't that interesting.

8/26/2016 7:33 PM
Oh the good Ole days. The best memories I have is trying to figure out the new engines. Also listening to everyone ***** about the engine only to hate the changes... if you can't win it doesn't mean it's broken it means you need to learn more and put more work into it. Or don't... just shut up and enjoy the game. But honestly the game won't change, they don't have developers for WIS anymore. Just some janitor who makes sure the servers stay on.
8/26/2016 11:45 PM
Posted by vhoward415 on 8/26/2016 1:16:00 PM (view original):
This topic came up a few CJ Sweat Wilkinson Shows ago and I immediately put it in my article idea queue for later discussion. So I finally got some time to write about the persistent myth of GD 1.0 that never seems to die. If you're interested in that history lesson, proceed...

The Myth of GD 1.0