How Important Is Defense? Topic

I'm no expert and there are better people to answer this but, I don't worry myself too much with defense. Other than Shortstop and Catcher,it doesn't really matter. I try to avoid "D" rated defense at every position, but a "C" doesn't worry me. I like range. Other than 3rd and 1st, Atleast a "B" is what I look for. Bad range at SS, 2B, and OF will give the opponent a lot more hits. And this might not be true, but I feel like +,- plays happen a little bit more than errors over the season (unless you have a bad defending SS and/or Catcher)
11/3/2015 7:05 AM
Also, the "Celebrating the Best of SLB" is pretty up to date. It has good info on this stuff
11/3/2015 7:09 AM
Good defense saves pitchers and allows for you to prevent hits. It's really a balancing act as good defense tends to cost more than poor defense. But first you have to understand how WIS does defense. Defense is broken out into 2 components on the site: Fielding and Range.

Fielding is always the simplest for me to understand, as it is essentially fielding percentage - or roughly the number of errors that you can expect your guy to make. Since errors are a known stat, you can easily see the difference of an A rated fielder with few errors and a high fielding percentage as compared to a D rated fielder with many errors and a lower fielding percentage.

Range is a whole different animal. WIS used a relative range factor system to determine range. This relative range factor determines whether or not the fielder will reach the ball. NOTE: Speed or SB numbers DO NOT factor into this...it is solely the range of the fielder.