Three Guard Lineup Topic

I'm wondering what people have to say about playing a three guard lineup? I am thinking about switching to it in the future but I've never done it before. I have seen some successful coaches using it and am wondering about the risks/benefits as well as any advice anyone may have.
9/19/2018 11:45 AM
I have done it in the past.

From my perspective, the benefit is more shooting and speed on the floor. When I ran 3 guards I was running a press defense. The downside is you will usually be giving up some ATH and a bit of RBD that a traditional SF would provide.
9/19/2018 1:00 PM
Works great with flex and 3-2 zone.
9/19/2018 2:32 PM
I've gone away from a 3 guard lineup lately. The #3 guy doesn't seem to add a huge impact with speed, ball handling and passing. Good athleticism, defense and rebounding and a decent combination of LP/PE seems to be the way to go. I don't run press any longer, but if I did, I probably would stay away from a 3 guard offense. One season I was playing with a 94 speed guy and +90 in ball handling at the 3, but didn't see anything great in terms of steals or offensive production from those attributes, despite pressing. But I don't know, maybe the fact that you have a fast guy at the 3, helps the PG and SG in some way. Also, in terms of 3 pt %, it's usually my #3 guy that has the lowest percentage out of the guards if I'm setting him at +1 or +2.
9/19/2018 2:36 PM
My experience with 3 guards is that it works best if your 3rd guard isn't a primary scoring option. Players like a high ATH/DEF guard with no other skills, or the odd guard with good rebounding/LP but no perimeter game, things like that.
9/20/2018 8:12 AM
Posted by shoe3 on 9/19/2018 2:32:00 PM (view original):
Works great with flex and 3-2 zone.
This is the correct answer. :)
9/20/2018 10:37 AM
I will run a three guard lineup with two strong centers. Also fun to use against press teams.
9/22/2018 6:47 PM