free market pricing? Topic

I am a relative newbie to whatif baseball but even I know that some players, like Tony Phillips '93 and Bob Caruthers '86, are indisputably underpriced.

I would advocate for a free market component to be added to how the pricing of these players is done, so that, if a player is chosen more frequently than average, his price goes up, while if a player is chosen less frequently than average, his price goes down. The market could be recalibrated every time new seasons are added or major changes to the game are implemented.

I believe that the market would be fairly sophisticated -- I have a great deal of respect for the intelligence of the people who play this game. And I'm not advocating that this component be the overriding factor in the pricing formula, or even a major one -- I'm just suggesting that it should be *a* compenent.

One argument against such a free market component would be that well-known players (and more recent players) would be overvalued because those are the names that come to mind when drafting a team. So Mickey Mantle might be overpriced and Reb Russell might be underpriced. But wouldn't that reward people who are able to select the underpriced and obscure? It seems to me that there should be a reward for that skill.

Thoughts?
9/25/2009 2:43 PM
Maybe they could make a league that does auction style drafting much like some fantasy baseball leagues are run.
9/25/2009 2:53 PM
Thats an interesting idea, but the big flaw is that not all players who are chosen often are misspriced. Some players are simply unique and fit an owners needs/wants, but they are priced fair. I think the best solution would be to price all the players accurately and leave it at that. Stolen bases, secondary postions, hitting pitchers, and A++ extremes are all underpriced, and "bad" fielders are way overpriced.
9/25/2009 5:25 PM
Are you talking about open leagues only? As boogerlips points out in many theme leagues you would get boned.