Drafting vs. Management Topic

Looking at my career record (which, believe it or not, has gotten much better in recent years), clearly I have to acknowledge I'm not an elite SIM owner.

But that makes me wonder...is it a problem with my drafting or my team management?

I feel like I can draft good teams with the best of them, which would then mean I'm a mediocre manager of my teams.

So I'd like to get some opinions...how much of a difference do advanced settings and other managerial moves really make?  Are they huge factors, or am I just not as good at drafting teams as I think?

I'm sure I'll get a few smartass responses, which is fine, but I'd like serious opinions as well.
1/19/2011 4:23 PM (edited)
Put me down for a smartass response.
1/19/2011 4:23 PM
Deal.  Can you throw in a serious opinion to counter it?
1/19/2011 4:24 PM
The team you draft is far more important than how you manage them.  At .477, you're not drafting good teams.
1/19/2011 4:41 PM
I know it took me a long time to realize how important pitch count settings were. The number of times I had a pitcher pitch well for 6 innings then fall apart in the 7th after he passed his ideal pitch count is embarrassing. To me, that's one of the most important managing lessons I've learned.
1/19/2011 4:54 PM
the one thing I had to learn how to do was to NOT draft too many PA's and IP's......and I still fight it with every team I build.  I HATE fatigue and used to waste alot of $$$ on plate appearances and innings that I did not truly need just so that I didn't ever have to played tired guys.  It takes more day-to-day managing (not settings, but line-up moves) but once I learned to milk more out of the guys I drafted, I was able to draft MUCH better players with fewer PA's or IP's and started to win much more consistently.  
1/19/2011 5:10 PM