Why Did You Pick The Team You Have? Topic

I am sure this has been asked before but I thought I would pose the Question again. I was wondering...What made you pick the team you have? For me it was the fact that Wabash is about an hour drive from me. I wanted Rose Hulman because i am only 20 minutes from there but it was taken.
10/13/2012 11:23 AM
The first team I ever had was, and still is Manchester in Iba 8 years ago.  I wanted Mt. St. Joe, which is a mile from my house, or Thomas More, which is still closs, but they were not open.  Manchester was open and in the same conference, Heartland, so I picked them.  I was tempted to pick Ohio Northern, but even though I have a degree from there, I feel no real attachment to the school.  (Long story). 

Every team I have had since then, maybe 20 - 25 over the years, I picked purely by the conference they were in, the rebuilding that needed to be done, or as a stepping stone to get to the next level.  Of course now I have no interest in D1 or climbing the ladder.
10/14/2012 8:47 AM (edited)
I first chose Chowan beause they were in USA South conference which was realy good. Then I chose Greensboro because they were much better than Chowan. I simply chose Randolph Macon because they had a great player. ( Johnathon Johnston)
10/14/2012 8:42 AM
Kentucky St- (DII Smith)-  I wanted my favorite school, Kentucky Wesleyan but they wouldn't hire me. So Kentucky St. was my 2nd choice

Mars. Hill and Bowie St. (DII Wooden and  Rupp)-  I thought they had good locations (NC and MD) for recruiting

Transylvania (DIII Iba)- My alma mater is Georgetown College (NAIA, moving to DII next season).  Transy is only 12 miles from Georgetown so I picked them.

Drury (DII Crum)-  DIII conference mates moved up to DII and convinced me to join them. It was a tough decision because I was coaching at Muhlenberg (PA) and I'm from Muhlenberg County (KY).